Mike Doughty - The Flip Is Another Honey CD


Mike Doughty - The Flip Is Another Honey CD


Released November 6, 2012.

Available on CD worldwide, excluding US and Canada.  

Not available for delivery in the US or Canada. Prices include shipping.

The title of Mike Doughty's THE FLIP IS ANOTHER HONEY, taken from a 1956 Variety review of a Jerry Lee Lewis single, means "the b-side is also fantastic." Doughty covers tunes from surprising sources, like John Denver, Cheap Trick, and the Broadway musical Guys and Dolls. "Country Roads" is a cover of the John Denver song, sung with Rosanne Cash; "Sunshine" finds Doughty rapping Doughty-esque-ly around samples of Denver's voice. "Sit Down, You're Rocking the Boat" is a straight-forward version of the song from Guys and Dolls; "Reach Out" is an obscure Cheap Trick tune from the soundtrack of the early 80s animated film Heavy Metal--which segues into a version of Josh Wink's 90s EDM classic, "Higher State of Consciousness." Except for three songs that were performed live, in the studio, with a cello and piano, Doughty played, or programmed, every sound. 

1. Sunshine
2. A Fanfare
3. Jimmy Bell
4. Take Me Home, Country Roads
5. Southern Girls
6. Tightrope
7. Send in the Clowns
8. Running Back
9. Sit Down, You're Rocking the Boat
10. Boy + Angel
11. Reach Out/Higher State of Consciousness
12. Ta Douleur
13. Mankind
14. Mistress
15. Words

Add To Cart